what we all do behind the backs

Posted: August 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

I feel the need to sort out my thoughts here, which has been proven to be quite effective.

Today I was chatting to a friend and this is like the fourth or fifth person who came to me and asked if we have left church (or more or less has assumed that we have left). Strange how this ‘news’ spread so fast, regardless whether it’s correct or not.
So many prominent people have left church and no one seems to know until months later. Merv and I stepped down as leaders and out from the lg for barely 2 weeks and everyone seems to be talking behind our backs on our decision to leave, which is not exactly accurate in the first place anyway.

Positively, this means we are cared (or famous, whatever it is) by many people that they would take notice of any disappearance. They care and they are concerned. They want the best for us.
Negatively, this is a juicy gossip material. Another addition to people who have chosen to abandon Hope.

I became to think about myself, actually, we all do that don’t we. We like to talk about other people, negatively. We may care, a little bit, but mostly it’s just because it’s juicy.
So and so left church, so and so got into bad relationship, so and so had a quarrel, so and so did something stupid, and so on.
I  guess this is probably the time that we are actually in the topic, instead of the ones discussing the topic.

I dunno what gave that impression and I dunno what Merv has been telling people. I am not intending to leave Hope, can’t do it. No matter how sucky it is, there’s always redemption point. God is the same everywhere, but I need that homely feeling that I have for the past 12 years in this church.
People may keep asking me where’s Merv and what’s the plan. I can try to explain but I don’t really know if what I’m thinking is accurate, I guess time will tell on where we are heading to.
It may seem that we’re floating now, just let us be. I want to dock myself somewhere too, in a group with Merv. It is not happening yet, so give us time please.

I just wish people will stop being surprised seeing me in church or asking which church i go to now.

Leave a comment