our young jedi – latte

Posted: August 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

So my husband encouraged me to journal down something non depressing, which sounds like a really good idea.

Last Saturday, we decided to go down to Build A Bear Workshop and build ourselves a bear. Though there are other designs like cute lamb, monkey, rabbit and some other animals, I thought that it would be more appropriate to build a bear. Well, the place is called Build A Bear Workshop isn’t it.

First step: choosing the bear. I thought of white bear but they look kinda dirty. I thought of blue bear to replace my missing Benny the blue hippo 😦 but it’s out of stock. So Merv decided on the cutest light brown bear with a big head.
Next, the shopkeeper brought it to the ‘stuff the bear’ station. While I stepped on the pedal, she’s doing a great job stuffing all the cotton properly and in no time, our bear was all ready and huggable!

The next step is very interesting. Putting the heart in. I chose a pure red heart and before putting it into the bear, the shopkeeper instructed me to rub the heart, keep it warm and make a wish. Apparently these steps are to ensure that the bear will be happy and yes it has a role to fulfill, to be my best listener and keep my secrets. LOL.

Now that the heart is in and the bear is done, I had to bathe it! There’s this shower section where I had to brush the bear. It’s so cute that I felt like crying and laughing at the same time.
Next step: choosing the clothes.
I wanted the bear to be a boy so we skipped all the princess clothes. At the end, Merv chose the Jedi clothes (and why am I not surprised) haha. Actually I think the bear looks cute in any clothes, there’s one outdoor clothes complete with fishing set that we tried, but we still think Jedi is cuter.

1174678_10151878141037160_235233716_n

He’s all ready! Aaaawwww…..
Decided to ditch on the shoes though, he looks cuter bare footed.

Last step is to register his birth certificate, no joke. Merv suggested the name Latte and it’s brilliant.
When we made the payment, the cashier lady asked me to do a vow to the bear, to always treasure him and make him my best friend… so cuteeeeeee!!!

I have to say that the whole process surprised me, didn’t know that building a bear could be so fun and touching. In a way, it’s like giving birth to a baby.
Now Latte is sleeping comfortably on my bed, or probably playing with the rest of my bears at home hahaa.. whatever it is, I’m glad to have him ^^ our special bear.

Leave a comment